Six NVMTA teachers entered a total of 7 students (8 total compositions) in the competition,

Students ranged in age from 7 to 18. Composers were from the studios of: Sheila Epstein, Margarita Gramaticova, Andrew Horowitz, Rebecca Salt, Silva Blazquez, and Juliana Kuo.

Judges for this year’s competition were Jo Lombard and Dr. Jesse Guessford.  Regan Brough assisted in selecting this year’s Jo Lombard Award recipients.


1st    Kyle Gatesman           Margarita Gramaticova            $150

2nd  Kayleigh Hoang           Silva Blazquez                        $75

3rd   Cameron Khan            Juliana Kuo                            $50


Brandon Niemann received the Willis A. Bennett Technology Award and a check for $150.

All entrants were invited to perform their original compositions in the annual Honors Recital, on Saturday, April 2, 2016, at the Woman’s Club of Arlington.

McLean Symphony Maestro Dingwall Fleary and symphony clarinetist, librarian, and stage manager Davyd Breeskin chose one entry to be performed at the spring concert on Sunday,

March 17, 2016 at The Barns at WolfTrap. “Etude in G” by Owen Rollins, student of Andrew Horowitz, was performed as orchestrated by Rollins.